Don’t you feel so insignificant when

You meet a person, for like the third time?

I keep meeting this same damn person over and over again, groundhog day style. It always starts with a friendly conversation or small talk, then a few minutes into the conversation, he’ll ask for my name. So I tell him and then ask for his even though I know it because he’s bloody told me it three times before.

Another awkward situation I often find myself in is not knowing whether it’s appropriate to greet an acquaintance. It’s like: I know your name and I have you on facebook, but what if you don’t remember meeting me?
The amount of times I walk past a facebook friend without acknowledgement is ridiculous. Which reminds me, I have to do a facebook cull.

The other day I found myself approaching someone I had met multiple times before. I had my phone in hand, so interaction could have easily been avoided. Instead, I cool calm and casually smiled and said hey then continued walking. In response I received a sympathetic oh-a-random-just-said-hi-to-me-I-better-return-the-random-act-of-kindness smile.
So looks like I’m going to be one of those people, who greets passers-by just for the heck of it. Oh well, I’m cool with that.

Leave a Reply

